PDA

View Full Version : KSU duck hunter frusterated with these geese

CookedGoose
01-07-2003, 09:48 PM
Well guys, names Mark Bigler, a couple of you on here know me like VC. Anyways, I am a big time duck hunter up at KSU(or wichita when I'm home). I'm a field editor for another hunting website called waterfowler.com, maybe some of you know of it? Well, I've been duck hunting all my life and now I'm trying to get into goose hunting and am looking for anyone to show me the ropes/help me in any way possible. These damn birds are so much more frusterating than ducks. God, duck hunting is childsplay compared to goose hunting. 162 ducks this year compared to jack squat for geese. The problem I have been running into is that I go around and get permission on a couple fields the geese have been using. Then when I go to hunt them at the exact same time I saw them the previous day, the birds either dont show, or just one small flock will come in. The other problem is finding land to hunt on, but thats a problem wherever you go. The past couple of days I have been following around a 1000 birds into a wheat field. Some of those birds were also drifting into the disced corn field I had permission on. Well, I go to hunt them after scouting 3 nights in a row seeing them land in the field only to have the geese fly over and taunt me from about 80 yards up. Nothing came to land in the field except one group of around 15 mallards. Ah, hell I just need some pointers or advice considering I am new to goose hunting but know the basics. I have killed geese before, just not many. And as for being frusterated, the whole group of guys I hunt with are just as frusterated as I am about this whole deal. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks, Mark Bigler
__________________________________________________ __
~"that boys such a good shot the ducks pluck themselves on the way down"~ S. Sullivan

Goose Killa
01-07-2003, 10:04 PM