PDA

View Full Version : how to discourage neighbor's dog?

greyghost16
02-05-2003, 08:41 AM
I live on a lake and have a very large yard. I have been training my dog in the yard for five years. I have control over my dog and can call him away from problems (though in a "high energy" situation) I may have to nick him with his e-collar to get his attention. The neighbors have a big male dog which is aggressive toward other males as is my dog. They let their dog out at unpredictable times each day and most often pay no attention until they are ready to bring him in. He will immediately rush into our yard growling and posturing if he sees my dog. He will growl at me if I try to run him off also. We are fortunate to have a pretty good duck hunting spot in the front yard and on top of spoiling training sessions, this dog has screwed up a couple of hunts. To compound the problem, the dog's owner works for me and in general I like her and her family. I have spoken to them directly and explained the problem in detail on three occaisions. I get a response right after these discussions but it isn't long before it's back to the same old sh*t. I have thought of a wrist rocket and maybe some rubber pellets but it doesn't seem like this should involve any more expense or effort on my part. I have mentioned that someone's dog is gonna get hurt and no matter whose it is, it will be a problem. Their dog weighs about 110 and I get the impression that they may believe this excludes him from the possibility of being hurt, so no problem. I'm out of good answers so HELP please guys.

chcltlabz
02-05-2003, 09:09 AM
A Slingshot and some of the old marbles works real well. They won't break the skin or bones, but really gets their attention. Aim for the rump, and I think you'll change his mind. Also, pepper spray works as well if not better on animals than people. Give him a blast of that the next time he gets aggressive with you.

Nevada Jim
02-05-2003, 11:56 AM