PDA

View Full Version : how long should it take?

phoneman
08-13-2003, 06:14 PM
I have had my 3 year old chessie at training for almost 5 months now, and he is still not done. When i dropped him off he was a mess, would not retrieve to hand, and was scared to death of guns. Since then, he has gotten over the gunshyness and the trainer is force-breaking him. I am new to hunting with a dog, how long should this take? I am worried he is not going to remember me. Any help would be appreciated.
Phoneman
p.s. he is being trained by a very reputable trainer who came with many references and alot of pro-recommendations.

shootem
08-13-2003, 08:52 PM
If he was the mess as you explained I would say a minimum of 6 months with the pro. How did you end up with a 3 year old dog with all those problems and why not give the dog away as a pet and start with a well bred puppy or started dog with out all the excess baggage. Dogs are like women they never forget unless they want to!!!!! Now you can start too worry about some thing else.:hest:

phoneman
08-14-2003, 02:59 PM
I stuck with him because he is a very well-bred dog, i just didn't make the right decisions when it came to training him. He is an awesome house dog and was a real good hunter, so this is a last chance for him as far as hunting goes, i talked to the trainer last night, he said it is moving along, but slowly, he said i will get to hunt him this season though.
Phoneman

JK
08-17-2003, 07:58 AM