PDA

View Full Version : Hold

huntingmarsh
04-27-2004, 08:40 PM
I've got a 1 year old Lab that I've been messing around with force fetch since her teeth came in but I've been really working on it lately and she is improving better and better everyday. I have it were she will hold it while sitting and standing but when I tell her to come she will still drop it right when she comes to me. I've tried the running backwards thing but she will still drop it. I'm sure if I keep working on her she'll get it but if you can help me it would be nice. Thanks

Corey

rustygunner
04-28-2004, 09:41 PM
your dog needs to understand the HOLD command before you start FF her....make sure if she is mouthing what ever object you using..that you give her a good hand under her lower jaw to enforce the hold...stick with it!! 2-3 times a day for 15 minutes or less...always remeber to end on a positive note!!!
im not a pro...but there are alot of good guys here who know wha they are talking about!
rusty

sprigkiller09
04-29-2004, 01:56 PM
I agree with Rusty the hand on the jaw to enforce the hold is a good option. Does the dog know the fetch command?? What temperment is the dog?? Does it like to please?? Cause another option is an electric collar to enforce the hold. Point down at the bumper and when you say fetch hit the button and more often than not it will pick it up. If the dog really likes to please though i would discourage this as it might be afraid from that point on. Another thing you can do id holf the bumper in front of your dogs nose and tell her to fetch and on the command hit the button. This will get the point across. Also when she drops the bumper as she runs back to you hit the button and yell fetch. If she is not sure what to do though place the bumper in her mouth. Hope this helps.

shootem
04-29-2004, 03:45 PM
Hey Corey
Send me your phone number in a PM and I will call you tonight!!!

greyghost16
04-29-2004, 03:51 PM