PDA

View Full Version : Force Fetching training?

10gaDago
08-25-2000, 09:31 PM
Who out there has some good experience with Force Fetch Training? I've got some questions I need help with. I'm doing it iwth my 2-1/2 yr old lab now. Can you still do dummy work while Froce fetching? Or do you need to only do the Force Fetch? She is real good in most other areas but drops dummies on rare occaisions or when she is really tired at the end of a work out. How far and how much pressure can you put on a dog? What are the signs that I should back off the pressure?

BBogey
08-26-2000, 04:22 AM
I'm no expert in the area of "force Fetching", luckily never having had the need for it...but does you pooch need to be force fetched, or taught to hold?? I'd think it's going to be a little stressful, especially this close to the season?

GOOD LUCK!

------------------
Dare to be Different!

Go4Ducks2
08-26-2000, 05:59 AM
10ga. do you use an e-collar? I back off a lot when its hot out, try to make it more fun.....sounds like ya just need to work on hold command. How long do you work you dog everyday? I only do 15 minutes or so during the week but on the weekends if its cool in the morning(under80degrees) we go out to the lake and spend an hour or 2.

------------------
Goose huntin' is the best but I Go4Ducks2 (http://sites.outdoorsite.com/outdoors/go4ducks2)

shootem
08-26-2000, 07:57 AM