PDA

View Full Version : To the youth of this forum !!!!! dont let this happen to YOU

Skeet in NZ
07-26-2007, 03:52 AM
Ok

Today I was told something I really didn't want to hear. The fact is I got to hear it. See the comment thread, the word is HEAR!

I was told today within five years I will be stone deaf! I have sat here all night and thought about this. I have been wearing ear muffs for the 28 years in my total working life. As a joiner I work with noisy machinery and have always believed that I had protected my ears. But it seems that I haven't; that might be because my hunting as added to it.

This is why I am hoping to get across to you younger guys to protect your ears while hunting. (I know that I am a old fart and just like your Dad telling you what to do) but guys listen to what I am saying, cause in 5 years time I may not be able to hear what you are saying to me, let alone being able to hear my grandchildren without having a hearing aid.

I was shown some hearing aids today which I will need to wear now and what I have to look forward to very soon. I can only hope that modern technology will get much better in the next few years.

Take on board you only get one chance at hearing. Blow it apart and you lose it. Please think about using hearing protection while out in the field. Whilst you might think ok big deal, think about this. This is why I finally did something and got it checked. This last water fowl season I could not hear the wing beats of a duck or the sound of a lone honk. Hunting becomes very hard while we rely on our sight what tips us to where we look???

Your hearing!

Rob

Flocknocker
07-26-2007, 08:02 AM
Good post Rob, I will make this a sticky so it stays around awhile. I'm about in the same boat as allot of guys here, wish I had it to do over again but you don't get the option.

Cliff

Wis_Goose_Hunter
07-26-2007, 11:48 AM
Good reminder Rob. Once it is gone it is GONE

Best of luck to you.

Cut-um
07-26-2007, 03:28 PM