PDA

View Full Version : Little Chief- Smoking Waterfowl

CamoHunter870
12-28-2008, 08:08 PM
I received a Little Chief smoker for Christmas and want to start smoking duck/geese by making jerky and just smoking the breasts of the birds.

I have never done this before so I am looking for tips and techniques that will help me make great waterfowl meat in the little smoker.

I'm used to just grilling the meat along with putting alot in crock-pot as well.

m.mauler
01-02-2009, 06:03 AM
Go to www.thesmokering.com check out their forum I sure you can find something there.
Joe

DUCKDIGGLER
01-05-2009, 02:10 PM
Mike,

The Lil Chief is a great low temp smoker I have used one for years. Awesome for smoking fish, cheese and making jerky.

As far as goose jerky is concerned there are a few things you need to know to get you started. First off the Lil Chief needs to be protected form lo temps and especially wind. They do not put off a ton of heat 180 degrees is about max for them(give or take a few).

So you need an area that is protected form wind and will allow the unit to maintain it's temp. Jensen sells a blanket for cold weather use and it is helpful......a good protected spot and the blanket is even better.

Ok....meat prep. Slice the jerky across the grain in even (key) 1/4" slices. I like 1/4" as it makes it toughh for shot to "hide" in the meat and also it reduces the time in which it takes to smoke the jerky....thicker slices....longer time in the smoker.

You can use either the basic wet brine in the Lil Chief Booklet or a commercial cure like High Mountain. I have used and like both.....slight edge to the Jensen brine recipe. If you use the High Mountain then follow their recipe.