PDA

View Full Version : Kirch, tell me about early signs of Mange???

Cut-um
02-23-2009, 11:46 PM
Korey, I've only seen the middle and later stages of mange while working the streets but what are the early signs of this problem????:hs:

The Baron of Bufflehead
02-24-2009, 09:13 AM
Your hair falls out and you start gaining weight. Don't worry, I've got it too.:rf:

skb20
02-24-2009, 10:19 AM
Your hair falls out and you start gaining weight. Don't worry, I've got it too.:rf:

Good one SIR, classic. But you did forget the third stage... some patients get an overwhelming urge to rag on kindly, defenseless folks a couple years older than themselves!! :tn:

kirsch
02-24-2009, 12:16 PM
Well, I am no expert on mange but I have seen enough cases to know what it looks like.

From my experience mange is usually most prevelant in the leg area, tail, and ears very early on.

If you see a coyotes tail that isn't furred up all the way, check out the legs and if there seems to be some fur missing there, it is a pretty good bet the coyote has mange. Of course as the disease progresses, it eventually covers almost the entire coyotes body. I haven't seen as much mange this year but I did see a coyote about 2 weeks ago that the tail had 0 fur left on it. I had to look twice at the coyote to really believe it was a coyote because it looked like one of this minature hairless dogs except bigger running across the country side.

Humans can get it to0 but it is runs its course fairly quickly. Some basic informaion on mange here (http://www.canismajor.com/dog/mange1.html)and many other places on the NET.

Flocknocker
02-24-2009, 01:29 PM
Rich has mange on top of his head and is worried cuz it gets worse every year!!!!!

Cliff

Cut-um
02-24-2009, 04:02 PM
Guess I set myself up with that one...:ST:

Thanks Korey, the reason I brought it up was the comment you made about mange on one of the yote pics in an earlier thread.:TT:

The Baron of Bufflehead
02-24-2009, 04:47 PM